You’re in the army now………………….

I’s been almost 2 months since my last blog, so I guess it’s time to stop hibernating and share a little of what’s happened over the Christmas and New Year period.

The biggest and most unexpected news came on Christmas Eve, call it a very early present from Santa.

If you recall in my last blog I wrote
I passed streak day 300., and I managed an annual appearance at Eastbourne Park run. Still the elusive sub 25 mins escapes me, but it really isn’t a big deal”   ( 2016 the birth of an ultra runner)

Well it appears that all good things come to those that wait. I pitched up on a chilly Saturday morning ready to have a new stab at my nemesis, without even a thought for a PB. Less than a minute after the start I had to pull over and re-tie my laces, so the cards were stacked against me. Imagine my surprise when I later received this text message:

“Eastbourne parkrun results for event #263. Your time was 00:24:28. “

That’s a whole 41 secs quicker than my previous best time.

Thank you Santa!

Of course in life there are good days and bad days, and the bad manifested it’s self the day after Boxing Day. Like 90% of the population I was stuck down by a flu-like virus that not only knocked me for six, but also left me with a hacking cough.

That put paid to the running then I hear you say?

Well no.

In hindsight I should have stopped and rested. Maybe if I had heeded this advice, I would not be still suffering 4 weeks later. Like they say “hindsight is a wonderful thing!” I continued the running streak, just doing the minimal of miles to keep ticking over.

On New Years Day,I was feeling at a particular low ebb  .
2016 Had been full of challenges and achievements and in comparison 2017 felt pretty damn flat. So when the chance presented it”s self to enlist in Steve’s Army I took it with open arms.

Steve’s Army is a band of Twitter buddies that have come together in the pursuit of fitness. The Commander-in-Chief Steve, finding himself on the injury bench rallied the troops into a 31 day press up challenge. How hard can that be I asked myself?

Well I tried 1 full press up on my toes and it was extremely ugly! From there in I was forced to adopt the feminine on knees box press up. Steve’s challenge was to perform 10 press ups per day, adding another 10 each week until the month ended. Steve held a role call every day where the troops needed to check-in and log their reps as done. Highly motivational, but as we reached 40 reps a day I started to lose the will to live.On a positive note,I was liking the new-found definition in my arms.

As January drew to a close, I suggested a February Tricep dip challenge, and that’s where we find ourselves today.
Some of the more dedicated troops are still pressing as well as dipping, but having had my fill of press ups, I’m quite content to stick with the dips!

More importantly, the fact that checking in with our leader has made me stick to the program, something I would otherwise abandoned within a few days. Already a week into February, I am thinking ahead to the March Challenge.

Commander-in-Chief Steve, I salute you, thank you for the motivation, and I hope you are off the injury bench soon!

Leave a comment